Illinois has strict requirements for those seeking to legally carry a firearm. You must have a Firearm Owners Identification card (FOID), issued by Illinois state police, in order to possess a gun or ammunition.
But what if you live out of state and have a permit to carry in your home state? Could you still find yourself facing gun charges in Illinois? The answer, unfortunately, is yes.
Is your out-of-state gun permit good here?
While many states have enacted reciprocity legislation to recognize out-of-state gun permits, Illinois is not one of them. Even if you have a firearm or concealed carry permit in your home state, it won’t be good here.
The one exception is traveling or transporting a firearm through Illinois. So long as you comply with certain requirements and keep the firearm in your vehicle, you are legally allowed to transport it without getting a FOID.
How to handle Illinois gun charges when you live out of state
If your find yourself facing gun charges in Illinois for carrying a firearm without a FOID, and you live out of state, it’s important to find an Illinois attorney to defend you. Your defense lawyer should understand the nuances of Illinois firearm laws.
The consequences of a conviction for unlawful possession of a firearm can be severe. In most cases, you will be looking at a Class A misdemeanor, which is the most serious category of misdemeanor. You could face up to 364 days of jail time, up to two years of probation and fines totaling up to $2,500. If the firearm in question is a handgun, you will be looking at a Class 4 felony, which comes with harsher potential penalties. The important thing is to enlist a trusted local defense lawyer who knows how to fight these charges.