Facing Criminal DUI Charges? Here’s What You Should Know.
In the State of Illinois, a DUI is regarded as a serious offense that can bring about severe penalties, including fines and prison time. The penalties you may end up facing depend not only on your blood alcohol content (BAC) or number of previous convictions, but also on the specific type of DUI committed. Based in Kane County, attorney John R. Kopp can help you determine the charge you are facing and will fight to build you a strong case.
Understanding The Different Ways You Can Be Charged With A DUI
In general, a BAC above .08 percent alone is enough to get you charged with a DUI and face the possibility of having your license suspended for at least six months. If you refuse to blow into a Breathalyzer, you will be suspended for 12 months. That being said, there are other factors that can worsen your DUI charge, resulting in more severe penalties. Below are some examples of varied DUI charges:
- Aggravated DUI: A felony offense, this charge involves certain aggravating factors such as having children under 16 in the vehicle with you, driving without insurance or driving without a valid license. Because it’s a felony rather than a misdemeanor, an aggravated DUI conviction can lead to many years in prison, a lengthy license suspension and heavy fines.
- Underage DUI/Zero Tolerance Suspension: Underage drinking while driving is illegal in all 50 states. In Illinois, it can result in a license suspension for three or more months, in addition to other significant consequences. Minors also face the prospect of a damaged reputation and tarnished criminal record, which can limit their opportunities down the road. A BAC above 0.0 percent alone is enough to charge you if you are under 21.
- Drug DUI: Because certain substances cause mental disorientation and impaired judgment, Illinois has made it illegal to drive with those drugs present in your system, including medical prescriptions that cause drowsiness. Like alcohol-related DUIs, drug-related DUIs can lead to harsh consequences, including jail time, driver’s license suspension and steep fines.
Regardless of the type of charge, all DUIs can lead to the suspension of your license, the possibility of having your vehicle confiscated, and mandatory courses on alcohol education and treatment. Even if you believe the State has a strong case, there is still room for us to conduct further investigation, such as cross-examining the police officer who pulled you over. With many ways to approach your case, it is all the more important that you face your DUI with a lawyer who’s handled issues just like yours.
Don’t Take Your Charge Lightly
At Kopp Law, we can help you identify the potential penalties you are up against, and we will fight to protect your future. If you would like to discuss enlisting our defense, schedule a free consultation by calling 630-448-2777 or contact us online.
In addition to having flexible appointment hours, Mr. Kopp is also able to meet you at a location that works best for you, whether it is at our office in Geneva or at a space in Chicago or in either the northern, western or southern suburbs.